Exceptional students who have participated in or led programs that promote diversity, human rights, or social justice for race, gender, religion, national origin, sexual orientation or gender identity, are invited to compete for a renewable, full-tuition scholarship award, offered to up to 10 students.

The Benjamin Templeton Scholars Advisory Committee was developed to support the program in the following ways:

  • Foster and support a creative atmosphere that encourages ambitious thinking on future program development.
  • Support the Benjamin Templeton Scholars in efforts to connect with local, regional, and national leaders within the social justice, human rights, and diversity education and advocacy communities.
  • Participate in the Benjamin Templeton Scholar selection process (i.e. participation in Templeton Competition Weekend individual interviews, serving as a judge for the Competition Weekend group interview, supporting scholarship deliveries, etc.).
  • Assist with Benjamin Templeton Scholar development (i.e. serve as a class sponsor, professional resource, present at the Templeton Retreat, etc.).
  • Identify and develop a strong base of financial support for the long-term stability and growth of the program.

Staff Contact: 

DJ Walsh, Associate Director of Student Life and Director of the Benjamin Templeton Scholars Program walsh@hanover.edu.

Alumni Leaders:  Jeff '77 and Susan Martin Studds '76

benjamin templeton scholars advisory committee members


Alumni members of the Benjamin Templeton Scholars Advisory Committee are listed below.  If you are logged in, you can view the member's personal profile and contact them through the online community email feature.  

Benjamin Templeton Scholars Committee Members Directory
NicknameMaiden nameLast NameClass of